modern crosses quilt

i finished a quilt! (it’s only been a year in the making…) it’s the modern crosses quilt from modern log cabin quilting by susan beal. i took a course with susan (who is local and who is awesome) last summer on log cabin quilting, started this quilt top, and then let it sit for months and months.

but i’m so happy this is finished! it’s our new couch/movie-watching quilt. it’s the perfect size at about 72×80″, and is sooo warm since it contains wool batting.

the fabric is one of my favorite lines- denyse schmidt’s hope valley. it’s obviously not the most creative of choices, making an entire quilt using only a fabric line, but i didn’t care- i loved it. (it also was pretty much guaranteed to come out looking awesome!) the background fabric is kona snow.

rather than tie the quilt and add buttons in the centers of the crosses, i free-motion stippled the entire thing using my new sewing machine. :) (i parted ways with my old machine and bought myself an amazing new bernina 530. i heart heart heart it.)

and bound it by hand, which is so utterly time consuming i’m not sure i’ll do it on my next quilt. i may use olive and ollie’s tutorial on how to bind a quilt by machine.

i love the simplicity of the quilt back.

if you’ve ever thought about quilting before, i highly recommend starting with log cabin blocks- they are super easy and there are so many fun things you can do with them.

thanks to all of you who have stopped by and left sweet comments during my little blog hiatus. i got out of the habit of blogging, and life got away from me this summer! i have been well, though. i’m looking forward to getting back into the swing of it, though… starting with kcwc next week. now to figure out what to sew….. :)
are you in?

15 thoughts on “modern crosses quilt

  1. You’re baaack! Beautiful quilt; I am so impressed. I used to quilt but I think something’s wrong with me now. If I can’t finish a project in under 4 hours, I bail. :) Can’t wait to see what you make for KCWC!

  2. Really nice. I especially like the back—keeping it simple is the way to go in my opinion. Congratulations on the new machine. I just upgraded myself to one of the last Aurora 450s at MD. I’m loving it so far!

  3. Yay! You’re back:) And with an amazing quilt to boot! Never have had the courage to undertake such a big project – you amaze me with your final product! Eager to see what KCWC inspires you to make!

  4. It’s perfect! I love the fabrics (love that whole line too, and yes, it looks smashing all together on a quilt), and the stippling is so nicely done. I gotta figure out how to machine quilt one of these days.

  5. Pingback: Japanese Sewing Book Series with nested in stitches | you and mie

Leave a Reply

